Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Negative aspects of relationships

 

Javed has been disloyal to me on a number of occasions. (unfaithful, treacherous)

 

Jane is always critical of her friends. I do not like that. (serious, grave etc)

 

OK, I was dishonest with you. I’m sorry, but I didn’t want to hurt you. (lying, untruthful, fraudulent)

Breakdowns: Expressions and Collocations

 

Relationships can break down due to genuine misunderstandings

 

A rift (serious disagreement that divides people) can develop between two people

 

There’s been a lot of discord (disagreement and discontent) in the office lately

 

My father and I don’t see eye to eye (have different opinions) on most things

 

His relation with Mary has turned sour (become bad). I think they will split up (separate)

Our marriage has had its ups and downs (had good and bad moments), but basically we are OK

Some more phrases and their meanings:

A bumpy relationship (up and down like a car on road with bumps)

A broken home (a family split up by divorce)

A family feud (quarrel in a family causing bad feeling for many years)


نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد