Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

two

A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush   

============== 

A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush as they say when you have at least one definite thing in contrast to two uncertain things

 

 

 

It wouldn't take much for me to cancel that trip in fact for two pins I think I will 

=========== 

it means that if given only the smallest reason or encouragement, you will cancel the trip 

 

 

 

 

Quite honestly I really can't decide which one to choose  I'm what you might say in two minds 

 ======================  

It means you are not able to decide

 

===================== 

in two shakes of a lamb's tail is an idiom which means in a very short period of time/very fast/in no time 

 

 

I'll see to that in two ticks and it'll be all over in a minute 

=================== 

The meaning of 'in two ticks' is clear in no time, right 

 

 

You honestly can't tell one twin from another as they are like as two peas in a pod 

=================== 

exactly the same in appearance, behaviour etc 

  

I worked out the answer in the end by putting two and two together 

===================== 

If you put two and two together you make a logical connection between two facts 

 

 

I honestly wouldn't trust either of them. They both think the same way and they're two of a kind=================== 

two, three etc people or things that are very similar 

 

there are no two ways about it 

 

 

ّّّّّّّI can see you're angry and want to do the same to them but remember that two wrongs don't make a right

I promise I'll be very quick indeed and I'll be back in two shakes of a lamb's tail

slangs

The gang leader told his followers to waste their rivals on the weekend. They are all  wanted criminals now 

 

 

to waste ====to kill  

 

 

Do you think I could borrow your wheels? I have an important appointment this afternoon 
 
 
wheels====car 
 
My cousin is a computer whiz. He maintains my system for me 
 
whiz====wizard 
 
 
I have to drink some coffee so I can get wired before the big exam 
 
 
get wired ====be very alert  
 
 
 
Oh, stop being such a wuss. The bridge isn't even that high
 
wuss====wimp  
 
 
My niece said her food was yukky 
 
yukky====bad 
 
 
 can't do one more thing right now. I'm spent 
 
spent====exhausted 
 
  
Who's up for some pizza
 
Who's up for ..... pizza==== Who wants 
 
  
 
The door is in good shape. But, it does have a nick in the lower left corner 
 
nick=====small scratch or dent 
 
 
 
Nukes are very dangerous weapons. They could destroy mankind for good 
 
 
Nukes===== Nuclear weapons

la di da

 snobbish===la di da

 

used to describe someone's behaviour when you think they are talking and behaving as if they consider themselves better than other people 

 

 

a la-di-da attitude