Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Prepositional Phrases

I want everyone to be quiet at once 

at once 

========= 

immediately or without delay 

 

 

My wife is at odds with my mother 

 

be at odds  

============== 

to disagree 

 

Our neighbor is at large right now

be at large   

============= 

if a dangerous person or animal is at large, they have escaped from somewhere or have not been caught  

 

 

 To this day, I have no idea what made him snap. He just got really angry one day and beat up his co-worker 

 

 

 

To this day  

=========== 

until and including now 

  

 

You have to take him at face value. There is no hidden agenda and he is not trying to pull the wool over your eyes 

 

take something at face value  

=========  

to accept a situation or accept what someone says, without thinking there may be a hidden meaning

 

 

Paul hit that man for good reason 

 

for good reason  

============  

 

To my astonishment, I won the lottery last week  

 

To my astonishment 

===================  

 

complete surprise


نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد