Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

SeeـHear

See

see both sides
be able to understand the two different opinions in an argument or debate
I see both sides of the green argument – I think we all need to cut down on the amount of energy we use, but I still really need my car

have seen it all before
have a lot of experience of something and so aren't surprised or shocked
She's been a teacher for 20 years so she's seen it all before. There's nothing teenagers can do that will surprise her

see the back of someone
not have to deal with someone or something unpleasant
I'll be glad to see the back of her. She's made my life miserable in this office for years

(see something coming (a mile off
realise that something is about to happen
Once he presented her with the red roses, you could see it coming. And sure enough, he asked her to marry him then and there, right in the middle of the 
restaurant

 

Hear

  

can't hear yourself think
not be able to hear people talking because a place is so noisy
The band were great for the first 10 minutes but eventually we had to leave because we couldn't hear ourselves think

Do you hear me
used to emphasise what you are saying, especially if you think someone hasn't been paying attention to what you've been saying
I said, I want you to tidy your room, now! Do you hear me? I'm serious

never hear the end of something
used to say that someone will continue to tell you about achieving something for a long time after they have achieved it
If her daughter wins this competition, we'll never hear the end of it. She's so proud of her children she never thinks that people might not want to hear about them all the time

See - phrasal verbs

see about something / doing something
deal with or organise something
 

Can you see about those papers I left on my desk 


It's mum's birthday next week, I'll need to see about buying her a present

see someone out
go to the door of a building or room with someone who doesn't live or work there, when they are leaving
Thanks for coming in for the interview. Kevin will see you out now

Hear - phrasal verbs

hear from someone
be contacted by someone by phone, letter, email etc 


I haven't heard from Bill since he went to university. I wish he would write just so I know he hasn't forgotten about me

hear of something
learn about something, find out that something has happened
I was very surprised to hear of his promotion. You know he's only been with the company of two months

Vocabulary

cancel
decide to stop an order for goods or services that you no longer want

change your mind
form a new opinion or make a new decision which is different to the one you had before

teething problems
problems which happen in the early stages of doing something new

mix up
mistake

compromise
agreement in an argument when the people involved reduce their demands or change their opinion in order to agree

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد