Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Making a telephone call

Making a telephone call
Common phrases meaning to telephone

  • She said she'd phone/telephone/call/ring (you) tomorrow
  • I'll give you a ring/call/phone call
  • I need to make a call/phone call (to Brazil)

Common phrases used when telephoning somebody

  • Could/Can I speak to Mr Carter, please
  • Is that Karen? Hi, this is Barbara/Barbara here

Common phrases used when answering the telephone

  • This is Mr Carter
  • (Mr Carter) speaking

A reverse charge call/(US) collect call is paid for by the person who receives it

Notice the following uses of through

  • Can I call Japan direct from here, or do I have to go through the operator
  • The lines were really busy and I couldn't get through to the airport
  • Can you put me through to Miss Shaw on extension 342, please

Some people have an (esp UK) answerphone/ (esp US) answering machine which plays a recorded message to callers if they are not at home. The message usually ends with a 'bleep' sound

  • Sorry I'm not at home at the moment. Please leave a message after the bleep/beep/tone
نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد