Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Idioms with 'shoulder'

have a chip on your shoulderseem angry all the time because you think you have been treated unfairly or feel you are not as good as other people

He's got a real chip on his shoulder because he's so short. He thinks he always has to prove how strong manly he is.

head and shoulders above a lot better than

Of course she's going to win – she's head and shoulders above everyone else in the competition.

 

a shoulder to cry onsomeone who is willing to listen to your problems and give you sympathy, emotional support or help and encouragement

She's a great boss. If ever you've got any problems you can go to her and she'll give you a shoulder to cry on. 

Idioms with 'back'


get someone's back up
annoy someone

She's late practically every day. It really gets my back up. Why should I always have to come in on time when she doesn't have to?

keep your back covereddo something now to make sure that if there is a problem later, you will not be blamed for it

I know you don't want to do all this paperwork but you need to keep your back covered in case there's an accident.
 

Idioms with 'neck'


have to brass neck to do something
not be embarrassed to do something

I couldn't believe he had the brass neck to ask her how old she was.
 
stick your neck out for someonedo something risky or take a chance

I told the boss that you were a really reliable worker. I stuck my neck out for you, so don't let me down, OK?

 

 

be up to your neck be very busy or have a lot of work to do

I'd love to come to your party this weekend but I don't think I can. I'm up to my neck just now, revising for my exams.

 

get it in the neckbe blamed, criticized or punished for something

If I'm late one more time this week, I'll really get it in the neck from the boss.
 

Vocabulary


Fancy a brew? informalWould you like a cup of tea or coffee

 

our paths cross 

we meet each other

 

mates informal  

friends

 

 

hold a grudge 

have a strong feeling of anger and dislike for a person who you feel has treated you badly

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد