Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

become, get, go, turn, grow, come 

 

become can be followed by an adjective or noun, not a verb • 

 Her husband became jealous.  

 We soon became friends

The following words are used with an adjective instead of become, in certain cases: 

get is very often used instead of become, and is more usual in spoken English • 

 I was getting hungry. •  

Things got worse and worse

:go is used 

 to say that something changes colour •  

 

The sky went pink  

to say that someone feels a change in their body   • 

  

My fingers have gone numb.  

with blind and deaf  

  

He went blind 

with mad, insane, crazy etc   

The crowd went wild

turn is used especially to say that something changes colour •  

The liquid turned green • 

 His face turned pale 

 

grow can be used in fairly literary written English  

to say that something changes gradually  

 It grew dark as we walked 

with a to-infinitive, to say that someone gradually starts doing something •  

We grew to love each other. 

 

come is used with adjectives like apart, undone, and 

 unstuck  

Your shoelace has come undone 

A few pages came loose  

with true  

Her prediction came true  

with a to-infinitive to say that someone starts doing something •  

I eventually came to realize (NOT became to realize) I was wrong  

 

come, go 

Use come for movement towards the place where the speaker is or will be 

 Come and see me at my office  

 I could see them coming down the hill (=getting nearer to me) . | When are you coming home (=to our home)  

 

Use go for movement in other directions Are you going to Sally's tonight? | I wish he would go home (=to his home, away from me

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد