Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Idioms and Expressions - Have

have a big mouth

Definition: somebody who tells secrets, who is a gossip

Don't talk to Mary she has a big mouth.
If you didn't have such a big mouth, I'd tell you my secrets.

have a bee in your bonnet

Definition: have an obsession, something that always remains in your thoughts and efforts

she has a bee in her bonnet that health care must change.
If I have a bee in my bonnet, I have to do everything I can until I can make it happen

have a bone to pick with someone

Definition: have something (usually a complaint) that you want to discuss with someone

I have a bone to pick with you

Just a moment, let's talk.
Tom's looking for Pete because he's got a bone to pick with him.

have a brush with something

Definition: have brief contact, or experience with someone or something

I had a brief brush with Jack and I didn't like it.
He's had a brief brush with unemployment.

have a chip on your shoulder

Definition: be in a bad mood and challenging people to fight

Don't take him seriously, he just has a chip on his shoulder.
Yes, I have a chip on my shoulder! What are YOU going to do about it?!

have a close call

Definition: be close to danger

I had a close call yesterday and was almost in an accident.
She's had a few close calls in her life.

have a familiar ring

Definition: sound familiar, as if you've heard it before

That story has a familiar ring. Did we read that last year?
Her experiences have a familiar ring. I guess everybody goes through that.

have a good head on your shoulders

Definition: have common sense, be sensible

Jack has a good head on his shoulders. Don't worry about him.
I think you have a good head on your shoulders. You should trust your decision.

have a green thumb

Definition: be very good at gardening

Alice obviously has a green thumb. Look at that garden!
My wife has a green thumb, so I let her do all the gardening.

have a heart

Definition: be compassionate or generous and forgiving with somebody

Don't hold that against her. Have a heart!
I think he'll have a heart and forgive you.

have a heart of gold

Definition: be generous and sincere

Mary has a heart of gold. I just love her.
The teacher has a heart of gold with her students.

have a heart of stone

Definition: be cold and unresponsive, unforgiving

Don't make him angry. He has a heart of stone.
I can't believe how he treats his children. He's got a heart of stone.

have an ax to grind

Definition: complain about something often

He has an ax to grind against his health care provider.
I know you have an ax to grind against Agatha, but stop complaining!

have an in with someone

Definition: have special access to someone (often used at work)

She has an in with the boss. Let her ask him for permission.
I wish I had an in with the director so I could get a promotion.

have a one-track mind

Definition: always thinking about one thing

He has a one track mind. He can't talk about anything besides golf.
Do you have a one-track mind?

have a soft spot in your heart for someone or something

Definition: love or adore a thing or person

I've got a soft spot in my heart for Maria Callas.
He has a soft spot in his heart for pinball!

have a sweet tooth

Definition: like sweets too much

I know you have a sweet tooth, but you need to be careful.
I need to watch my weight, especially because I have a sweet tooth.

have clean hands

Definition: to without guilt, guiltless

Don't blame him, he has clean hands.
The man claimed to have clean hands in the crime.

have egg on one's face

Definition: be embarrassed after having done something very stupid

I had egg on my face after I asked that stupid question.
I don't think he realizes he has egg on his face.

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد