Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

writing a letter 3

 Phrasal Verbs

Informal (Phrasal Verb) Formal (Single Verb)

look into                           investigate

think about                          consider

look back                          reflect

pass on                             forward

go out                                exit

go in                                 enter

get off                               alight

get on                              board

 Modal Verbs

Informal Formal

I will be very happy if you can …. I would be very happy if you could….

I want to point out …. I would like to point out ….

Can you please …. Could you please ….

If you want …. If you would like ….

If you need …. Should you require ….

Why don’t you …. You might like to ….

You should take a train. It would be better for you to take a train.

Grammar

 Active/Passive Voice

Informal (Active Voice) Formal (Passive Voice)

Unless you do something about …. Unless something is done about ….

If you don’t do something about … If something is not done about ….

I will have to take …. I will be forced to take ….

I would appreciate it if …. It would be appreciated if ….

This caused the fire to break out. The fire was caused by ….

. Instructions and Polite Requests

Informal (Direct Instruction) Formal (Indirect Request)

Please clean all the windows= I would like all the windows cleaned.

Please make a reservation in my

name

I would like a reservation made in my name

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد