Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

Lets learn English

Don’t waste these three: Time, Money and Energy

writing a letter ( formal - informal) 2

We write because we have a purpose. It is important to indicate at the beginning of a

letter what its purpose is – exactly why you are writing:

Type of Letter Purpose Statement

Giving information I am writing to advise that ….

Requesting information I am writing to request information about ….

Giving instructions I am writing to explain how to ….

Relating an event I have been asked to give details of the accident ….

Giving good news I am very happy to tell you that….

Giving bad news I regret to inform ….

Complaining I am writing to complain about ….

Describing I am writing to describe what I remember of the ….

Advising or suggesting I would like to offer some suggestions about ….

Functions

Giving information

Structures

It gives me great pleasure to be able to…

I am pleased to be able to…

I am happy to announce…

Please be advised/informed that…

I would like to inform you that…

Here is the information you required/requested/asked for.

Attached please find the information you required/requested/asked for.

Giving good news

Structures

I am delighted to be able to advise/tell/inform you that…

I am pleased to advise/tell/inform you that…

It gives me great pleasure to advise/tell/inform you that…

It gives me great pleasure to be able to advise/tell/inform you that…

I have some great/good/happy news to share with/tell you.

Giving bad news

Structures

I am sorry to say that…

I regret to advise/tell/inform you that…

Giving a reason

This is due to…

This is owing to…

This is because of…

Requesting information

Polite

Impolite

Request:

I would appreciate it if you could send me information on…

It would be appreciated if you could…

I would be (most) grateful if you could send me information on…

Could you please send/forward/supply information on…

Would you please send/forward/supply…

Would you be so kind as to…

Would you mind sending/forwarding/supplying me…

Please may I have information on…

May I have information on…

Please send/forward/supply information on…

Send/forward/supply information on…

Give me information on…

I want information on…

Being explicit:

In particular, I need to know…

Actually I need information on…

The information I require is…

What I require/need/want is…

Giving instructions

Grammar

Imperatives: put, turn, add, close, shut, remove, heat

don’t forget to, don’t touch, don’t open

Polite Please remember to clean the…

Please arrange to have the iron repaired.

Please have the car repaired by next Friday.

Please clean the…

I’d like you to clean the…

I want you to clean the…

Impolite Clean the…

Conditionals: if… then…

unless… then

Eg: If the iron is broken, then please fix it.

Transition Signals: first, second, third, then, next, after that, final, last

firstly, secondly, thirdly, finally, lastly

when, while, as

Eg: Turn left when you reach the corner.

While beating the eggs, blend in the sugar.

Maintain speed as you turn the corner.

NB It is possible to replace an instruction with a polite request for action.

Example: Please repair the iron. It is faulty.

(Polite instruction using an imperative verb)

I would like the iron repaired. It is faulty.

(Polite request using a modal verb)

 

 

Politeness

Modal verbs are used in English for politeness.

May I…

Would it be possible to come at 8.30 and not 8.00?

Would you mind if I changed the meeting time?

Would you mind turning down your music – I can’t study.

Could I/you come at a later more convenient time.

Levels of Formality

Formality is achieved in English in several ways:

Vocabulary choices

Grammar choices

Language can be made more formal either by choosing more formal vocabulary or by

choosing more formal grammatical structures.

Vocabulary

1. Simple or common words are less formal than unusual or less frequently used

words. These simple words are usually short, monosyllabic words, whereas

more formal words tend to be longer, multi-syllabic words:

Informal Formal

send                            forward

give                              provide

stop                              refrain from

want                               require

happy                             grateful

I am sorry                       I regret

 Conjunctions

Informal Formal

because of                owing to / due to / as a result of

and                           furthermore, moreover

but                            however

if                                                            whether

                                  

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد